I have been debating where to put this post. Should I put it here – because … well … eggs! Or should I put it on Robbing Peter because eggs are food? But the project did not produce anything particularly edible. Edible by me that is. The chickens, they ate the eggs.

Did you know chickens love hard boiled eggs? It isn’t totally creepy when you think about it. Egg yolks are a chicken’s first food. Otherwise I don’t want to think about it. But then again – chickens apparently go nuts over cooked chicken too – so they are little cannibals. Of course, all of this is beside the point. The point is that I did a cool crafty type project for Easter and I am just now getting around to sharing it with this here intarweb. Enough chit chat – make with the pretties.

Silk Dyed Egg in Blue

I never thought I would love paisley.

This really isn’t anything new. If you search for “Silk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs” you will find plenty of instructions on how to do this. As with all things like this – it originated with The Martha. You need pure silk – most easily obtainable from your local thrift store in the form of ties. Look inside the tie for a label that says 100% silk. Apparently silk blouses, scarves and boxer shorts work also – I did not test them. I used ties. Really ugly ties. Avoid ties that have really thick fabric or any kind of texture – even if they are silk.

Easter Egg in red and black

The uglier the tie - the prettier the egg

Cut the silk into pieces big enough to completely wrap around the egg with enough left over to tie off. Also you will need pieces of white cloth (cotton preferably) the same size as the silk pieces. In keeping with the reusing men’s stuff theme I cut up one of my hubby’s old t-shirts that I was sick of seeing. Place the egg on the silk with the “right side” of the silk against the egg. Gather the fabric around the egg and get as much fabric/shell contact as you can manage. Twist the fabric at the top to make a little package and then do the same with the cotton fabric. Tie off somehow. I used bits of leftover cotton knitting yarn – The Martha used twistie ties.

Silk Dyed Easter Egg

Not my fave - but nice for pastels

Fill a pot with enough water to cover your egg packages and add 1/4 C of white vinegar. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes. Remove and “allow to dry”. At least that is what the original instructions said. I let mine sit overnight and the next morning they were still wet. I went about my day and came back around lunch – still damp. At this point I lost my patience and unwrapped them. None the worse for wear. So I would let them sit at least a couple of hours – but they don’t have to be dry.

Silk Dyed Easter Egg

The crispness of the transfer amazes me

I had a fifth tie – but it didn’t work for crap. That is where I learned the no textures tip that I thoughtfully provided above. I took the two eggs came out poorly and re-wrapped them in prints that did well then repeated the process. Again they came out nicely. I just lurve the way they look and cannot wait to try this again. I am considering blowing some eggs and seeing if it will work on blown eggs – I have my doubts.

As I said, I have been feeding these eggs to my chickies and they can’t get enough! Hard boiled eggs are a great treat for chickens – very nutritious. One tip I have read and plan on sticking to is that you can feed eggs cooked about any way to chickens – but don’t give them raw eggs. If your chickens get a taste for raw eggs – you are pretty much up a creek.

BOCK – hmmm what’s this that just came out of my butt? ….. ooooooooh it looks tasty!!!!! = empty nest box for the peoples.